Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Just in case you’ve noticed that I’m posting an awful lot in a short amount of time, let me assure you that this will not be the norm. Now that I’ve decided to start keeping a list of the things I’ve read since moving to the Island (well, really, since discovering how great the Victoria library is), I’m playing a bit of catch up. So once I’m caught up, my pace will slow down. Just fyi.

Sooo, Stardust. I first saw the movie, actually, and loved it. When I discovered that it was actually a book first, I was so pissed! I always want to read the book before seeing the movie. After having resigned myself to the fact that I was doing this in the reverse of my preferred order, I found the book and devoured it. I loved the tone of the book, the other-worldly, ethereal, mythical way it was written. I now love the book and the movie equally: they are quite different from each other and I enjoyed both. I had a hard time getting into the book since the edition I got from the library was some kind of goofy large-print book (beware the cover I posted a picture of here — supposed to be for teens, though it isn’t clear to me why teens require large print), which I found frustrating to read. After doing some research for this post, I have now discovered that the most popular version of this book (according to Wikipedia, which of course we all take as the Authority – if it’s on the internet, it must be true, right?)  is one that is illustrated by Charles Vess. So of course now I will have to try and track that version down and read it again.

For those who don’t know, here’s the gist: Tristran Thorne, our main character, is from a small village in England called Wall, and is in love with the prettiest girl in town, Victoria. One night he’s walking her home and they see a falling star – Tristran promises to bring Victoria the star. He ends up crossing the wall that runs next to his village (the one that the village is named for, and that separates the mortal world from the faery one) and heads off to find the star. He is not the only one in the faery world in search of the fallen star, though – some very old, very evil witches are also on the hunt for the star, whose heart will bring their youth back.  When Tristran finds the fallen star, he is surprised to see that the star is actually a girl named Yvaine. The story unfolds as Tristran tries to bring Yvaine back to Victoria.

I’m so glad I discovered this book – I can’t wait to read more by Neil Gaiman!

2 responses

  1. I love this book! I think my first Gaiman was American Gods, and then I read this one some time after. My favorite Gaiman is Neverwhere- I just LOVE the whole concept of it! Though I also thoroughly enjoy The Graveyard Book. They’re all good, some are just more priceless to me than others 🙂 I’m glad you’ve discovered him!

Leave a Reply

