I finally caved…

It’s true. I did it. I read Twilight. Actually, I devoured it. I’m not gonna say too much about it because I’m sure everyone else read it years ago. I’ll just say I enjoyed it, and I get the hype. I found that Bella was a pretty different character in the book than in the movie. Interesting. (This is another one of those instances where I saw the movie first.) I’m still not really that into vampires as a fantasy genre, and I seriously doubt I’ll be jumping on that train, but I will probably read the other books in the series (though I’m warned that they get worse.??)

I also read Neil Gaiman‘s Coraline in an afternoon. I thought it was great! He’s such a good writer. He is really able to paint an interesting world with such integrity through his words. I also have his book Anansi Boys out from the library right now and I’m about to head out on my friend’s back deck in the sunshine and start that one. Hooray!

I’ve recently joined goodreads (another avid-reader friend of mine has been encouraging me to join for ages). I’m still figuring it out and learning my way around the site. In your account, you can set goals, so I set myself a goal of reading 100 books this year. I’m now thinking that might be a lot overly optimistic. I may bump that down to 50. Or 70, at least. 100 books doesn’t seem like that many in a year, but when you break it down I guess it’s more than one book every three to four days and that does seem a bit crazypants.

Leave a Reply

