Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

I could not put this book down, which is surprising given that I am on such a happy-subject-matter-only bent right now and it is evident from the inside cover of this book that it is not happy subject matter.

Sam is a typical high school girl until the day she dies in a car accident and starts to relive the day of her death over and over again.

So, okay, it’s not a terribly original plot idea but Oliver hooked me from the beginning and the book sailed along at an incredible pace. Each time Sam relives her day, and she discovers what she can change and what she can’t, I found myself liking her more and more; Oliver does a great job of showing how Sam changes, and grows up, in a matter of a few days. (Well. Repeating the same day several times.)  

This is not fantasy, just fiction; but I still really enjoyed it. I see that Oliver has written another book, Delirium, and I will totally be checking that out too.

In other news, I can’t seem to get through Gaiman’s Anansi Boys. I am finding it difficult to read, in the same way that I found it difficult to watch Seinfeld because I couldn’t stand watching George embarrass himself over and over. So I stopped watching Seinfeld, and now I’m gonna stop reading Anansi Boys. Sorry, Gaiman. I’ll try it again later…

So what’s up next? I’ve picked up Mairelon the Magician by Patricia C. Wrede after reading what Aarti had to say about it on her blog. So far, I’m loving it!

Leave a Reply

