Pegasus by Robin McKinley

Over the weekend I finished up reading Pegasus. This is one of her newest books (perhaps the newest?) and I think I fell prey to my expectations. This was a good book; great, even; but it wasn’t as good as I was expecting after reading Beauty and The Hero and the Crown.

I did love Sylvi, the tomboy princess who’s the centre of the story. Every member of the royal family is bound to a pegasus on their 12th birthday. But when Sylvi is bound to Ebon, they find that they have an unusual bond; one that everyone else is afraid of. The book tells how Sylvi and Ebon become the closest of friends, and together they push the preconceived boundaries of human-pegasi communication and interaction.

The story had great elements: a beautifully constructed fantasy world, loveable characters, and a solid plot line (complete with an evil magician). I found that it took me a long time to get through the book, though – perhaps I’m too used to reading more typical teen books that I can speed through in a day or two, but this seemed to drag on. When I was about three-quarters of the way through, I thought about how sometimes when I’m loving a book and I’m getting through it really fast, I ration it — a few pages a day — so that it will last longer, because I don’t want it to end. Pegasus was a good book, but I felt that the story progressed too slowly, and I was frustrated that it was taking so long to unfold.

It ended sort-of abruptly, and without wrapping up, which says to me that there’s going to be a sequel… this is something I find mildly annoying in books. If there’s going to be a sequel, fine. If you want to let your readers know that during the book, also fine. But at least wrap the story up in a satisfying way!

All in all, this book was a good one, and I enjoyed it. Just not as much as other stuff I’ve read by McKinley…

2 responses

  1. Pingback: The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley « Spines and Soles

Leave a Reply

