The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett

Believe it or not, I’m pretty sure this is my first Terry Pratchett book. For reals. It was great. An original take on witches, and a great heroine.

For those who haven’t read it, the book is about Tiffany Aching, an intelligent young girl from a small town in The Chalk who is a witch and doesn’t know it. Strange things start to happen, and soon it’s up to her to get her little brother back from the Faerie Queen who has stolen him. Luckily, she has the help of the Nac Mac Feegles (the Wee Free Men): pictsies (pictish pixies?) that are mostly into fightin’, drinkin’, and stealin’.

This was an incredibly clever book. I’m so glad I picked it up and can’t wait to read more about Tiffany Aching. I still can’t believe I didn’t read any Pratchett when I was in junior high (the last period of my life when I was obsessed with fantasy, particularly books by Anne McCaffrey). I think I may have unwittingly lumped his books in with those of the Dragonlance variety (never really floated my boat), since Pratchett books were coming out as quickly as the Dragonlances were in the 90s (at least, that’s how I remember it). Speaking of Anne McCaffrey, I recently found some of my old favourites of hers at a used book sale, and I am so excited about it! I found Dragonsinger and Dragondrums, but am still on the lookout for Dragonsong. Since it’s the first one in the series, I have been trying to see if I can find that to read first before I re-read the other two. I may not be that patient…

Right now I’m reading The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, which is amazing so far. AMAZING. So much better than Pegasus.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Playing catch-up… | Spines and Soles

  2. Pingback: Hiking up in Cape Scott « Spines and Soles

Leave a Reply

