Firelight by Sophie Jordan

I read this one in about two hours. It was a good little read.

Jacinda is a rarity amongst her kind: sure, there are lots of draki, descendants of dragons who can take on a human form, living here and there. But Jacinda is the only fire-breather to be born into her community in recent memory (keeping in mind the lifespan of a draki is abotu 300 years). Jacinda breaks the draki rules, so she and her mom and sister hi-tail it outta the draki community to live with us regular old humans.

I haven’t given a very full description here, but if I do any more describing then you won’t need to read it at all. This wasn’t my favourite teen fantasy book. The writing was so-so, the main character wasn’t as endearing as I wanted her to be (in fact, she seemed a bit whiney and her inner dilemma had me annoyed with her rather than sympathizing). That said, it’s an original idea of Jordan’s. Dragons who can take human form? So cool.

While I enjoyed this one, I feel like it didn’t really live up to it’s potential.

(Saying that makes me feel very Adult, in a goofy way, like a mom or teacher telling a teenager they aren’t living up to their full potential, to which I can picture my teenaged self saying, “What does that even mean?” Reminds me of summer camp when I was 13, and being told that I wasn’t showing enough ‘initiative’ to be recommended for the leadership program for 14-year-olds — one occasion of my teenaged-self thinking “What does that even mean?”).

This kinda reminds me a bit of The Iron King by Julie Kagawa – cool idea, but I really wanted it to be executed better. [Sophie Jordan and Julie Kagawa, please know that I admire you for writing books. 🙂 ]

One response

Leave a Reply

