The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

But first, a word about the new look of this blog. I was getting tired of the same old same old, so I decided to try on a new theme. Mostly, I love it. The photo I had on there before clashed with the alarmingly lemon-y new sidebar colour, so I had to change it. The only things I don’t love about it are 1) the ridiculous colour of the sidebars — ouch (sadly, I can’t change them), and 2) that the text for the links is purple. Purple? Really? sigh. But these things I can live with.

So about this book. So cute! I loved it. Would have liked it a lot when I was a YA reader, for sure… it reminds me a bit of the old Enid Blyton books (though I confess it has been a long time since I read any of them, so I guess it just reminds me of my memory version of those books).

The four Penderwick sisters and their father have rented a cottage on an estate called Arundel for their summer holiday. Naturally curious, the girls get themselves into all kinds of trouble with the strict owner of Arundel, Mrs. Tifton.

I picked this one up after reading what Aarti had to say about it – the book sounded charming. I was able to get it basically right away from the library, and I was not disappointed! This is a great summer read, for sure. Birdsall does a great job of keeping it lighthearted through the calamities, and I love that Mr. Penderwick is always speaking latin.

Reading this has also got me hoping that the box of my childhood books that I stored in 2009 is still kicking around somewhere. I’d love to reread those Enid Blytons again!

One response

Leave a Reply

