Lonely Werewolf Girl by Martin Millar

You know how I feel about werewolf and vampire books, but, like many other people, I read a bit of praise about this one from Neil Gaiman so I decided to try it. After reading a few chapters, I decided that I’d like the book, and went back to read the blurb on the back cover. I was surprised to find that this is the same guy who wrote The Good Fairies of New York. I tried to read that one earlier this year and could NOT get through it. I found it really, really annoying. I tried fairly hard to stick with it, because there’s something really interesting and refreshing about Millar‘s style, and I really liked the idea. So I’m glad I picked this one up, and got to enjoy Millar’s style.

Kalix hates being a werewolf. She’s the youngest in the royal werewolf family, the most powerful werewolves in Scotland, and she hates them all: her brothers and her father especially. She has run away from home, at 17, and is drowning her sorrows in laudanum (how very Victorian of her). She wants to die, but the strong werewolf inside of her will have none of that. Many want to kill her, both werewolves and humans alike, and since she sold the magical pendant her sister gave her, she’s no longer untraceable. As the book goes on, she is drawn into the battle for the throne that is going on between her two brothers, and makes friends with some unlikely humans.

Lonely Werewolf Girl is a much longer book than what I’ve been reading lately. It’s some 520 pages and there is no messing about in it’s layout: the book starts right at the top of the third page, and there are no page breaks between chapters (all 200+ of them!). Long book,  short chapters? Interesting approach. Anyway, at first I found that while I really liked the story, Millar was quite repetitive. If he’d cut out most of his descriptions of the characters the book could have been 25 pages shorter without losing any meat of the story (we KNOW the colour of all characters’ hair. you told us the first time you introduced them, so you don’t need to tell us every time we get back to that character’s story again! Mental picture does not need to be re-established every second page). Luckily the repetition petered out by about halfway through the book (or else I was just able to tune it out?!) and I really enjoyed it. I liked the sub-plot about her sister Thrix, the werewolf fashion designer.

There’s a sequel to this one, so I’ll probably pick it up and see what happens to Kalix!

Leave a Reply

