Jane by April Lindner

Well I finished reading this modern-day adaptation of Jane Eyre last week. Let me preface this by saying I LOVE Jane Eyre. It is one of my favourite books ever and especially lately: I have probably read it 4 or 5 times a year for the past three years. (Though, I’m not going to lie, a few of those times I skip a lot of the very beginning, and start when Jane gets to Lowood).

Jane  April Lindner book reviewJane (the book) is set in present day, and begins as Jane (the character) is forced to quit university when her parents die. She has two siblings, both considerably older than her, who do not offer to support her continued education. Jane has to find a job, so she applies at a nanny service. She gets a position as a nanny for the daughter of a rich rock star. The story is fairly true to Jane Eyre so if you’ve read that book, you know what happens. 🙂

I thought that Lindner did a good job of modernizing the part of the book where Jane leaves Thornfield for her period of self-imposed exile. I don’t want to give too much away, since this is part of the book I was very pleasantly surprised by.

I didn’t super-love Jane Moore as a character. I found that she wasn’t as strong as Jane Eyre was, in some ways, but she did an admirable job as a stand-in. I also didn’t completely believe that Nico (aka Rochester) could fall in love with this Jane, but once their romance started it seemed a bit more believable.

Lindner did some other really clever things in the modernization. In Jane Eyre, when Jane leaves Thornfield she has no money and won’t say where she’s from so she essentially has no way of getting a job. These days, if a person had been working for several months it’s highly unlikely that she wouldn’t have any money. Lindner gets around that by writing that Jane doesn’t want to access her bank account because she knows she can be tracked down that way; same with using her cell phone.

Overall it was a very clever re-telling. It’s no Jane Eyre, but it was an entertaining read.

Leave a Reply

