How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls by Zoey Dean

I read this one between the two Serious Books (well, more serious than my usual fare) I wrote of in my last post. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of substance in the book — far more than the cover or the blurb suggested to me. I’m not saying this is literature. It is what it is. But I did enjoy it, and was surprised by how much. Yesss, beach book.

How to Teach Filthy Rich Girls reviewMegan Smith recently graduated from Yale and is working as a writer for a celebrity gossip mag: not really her thing. She’s not all that surprised when her boss lets her go, but she is surprised by the offer of another position: tutoring two rich teenagers for a few months, until their SAT test. Still struggling with a mountainous student loan, Megan takes the job.

So, not being someone who’s really in touch with the teen television scene, I hadn’t realized that Dean has written about a gazillion books (the A-list series, Gossip Girl series, Pretty Little Liars series, etc etc.), many of which have been turned into TV shows. So, I guess it’s not that surprising that the book is good. She knows how to captivate an audience. This book was even turned into a series. Hmmm, interesting.

Anyway it was the perfect offset to the more un-mandate-like books that I read this past month.

2 responses

  1. Was this book the one that show Privileged was based on? In a way, that decreases my desire to read the book because it makes it sound like the author is writing for a TV show screenplay…

    • Hey Aarti, yeah it is. I don’t know whether Dean knew it’d be a TV show when she wrote it… I didn’t notice that it sounded like it was written for TV, in particular, but then again I’m not the best judge of those things… I didn’t really notice (or at least, it didn’t bother me) until people pointed out that the later Harry Potter books read more like they were written for TV.

Leave a Reply

