Glimmerglass by Jenna Black

It’s been a few weeks since I finished this one, so I’m going from memory here. I really enjoyed it – more so than other recent teen reads, I’ll say.

Glimmerglass reviewDana decides to leave high school after her mom shows up drunk (again) to her singing recital and embarrasses her: she heads over to England, to a town called Avalon. It’s the only place where the faerie world overlaps with the earthly one, and apparently the dad she’s never met lives there. Turns out her dad is actually a pretty important guy in Avalon, and everyone knows who Dana is — and wants her for something.

I liked the idea of Dana being a faeriewalker. (Someone who can travel between the human and faerie worlds, no problem, and can bring magic into the human world and technology into faerie. Ruh-roh, as Veronica Mars would say.)  Plus it’s been awhile since I read a faerie book, AND Black‘s a pretty decent writer. Some of the plot elements are a bit obvious, but… that’s ok with me right now. Part of the mandate, I’ve found, is predictability (though, with a caveat: if good things happen unexpectedly, that’s ok. Bad things? No indeed. Foreshadowing, please!).

And, like so many teen books these days, it’s part of a series! I know, shocking. So I can always read more if I want to. Maybe later…

I picked up Linger by Maggie Stiefvater and Chime by Franny Billingsly from the library, but couldn’t bring myself to read either — just not in the mood, I guess. Chime seemed a bit … dark… for the mandate, and I tried a few pages of Linger and just couldn’t get into it. Probably partly because I had another few books lined that I KNEW I’d like … stay tuned for more about that!

Leave a Reply

