Matched by Ally Condie

I read this one a while ago, but I’ve thought about it on quite a few occasions since then. I was pleasantly surprised by this book.

Book review Matched Ally CondieThe story opens just as Cassia, a 17-year-old living in a tightly controlled world, is about to find out who her ‘match’ is — that is,  the man she’ll be spending the rest of  her happily choreographed life with. Unlike most of the other 17-year-olds who go through this process, Cassia knows her match once he is revealed: Xander is someone she’s grown up with, and a close friend. But when the pops the disc that each person is given at their matching ceremony into her player, two faces appear. Xander’s, and someone else’s — and Cassia knows this person’s face, too.

I’m not often huge on dystopian fiction, so I was surprised by how much I liked this book. Condie has a real knack for spinning tales, that’s for sure. I won’t say this was an amazing book or anything, but I enjoyed the read. Lots of folks have compared it to Lois Lowry‘s The Giver, but it’s been approximately one hundred years since I read that so I can’t comment.

When poking around on the internet before writing this post, I landed on the book’s website. Now THAT is amazing. So clever! The site is designed so that you, the website visitor, feel like you are entering into Cassia’s Society-controlled world. You can even find out who your match is! [Full disclosure, I didn’t do this part, since I already know who my ‘match’ is. But I think it’s cool that you can do it.]

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Looking forward to: | Spines and Soles

  2. Pingback: Crossed by Ally Condie | Spines and Soles

Leave a Reply

