Gifts by Ursula K Le Guin

I found this on the teen shelf of my local library branch. I was surprised that I hadn’t heard of it before. Not that I am a vigilant follower of Le Guin or anything — I don’t know all of the titles she has published (by far! there are so many)  — but I have been poking around the teen fantasy section a lot this year so I was surprised that I haven’t come across this one earlier. There was a list of some other Le Guin titles in the first few pages and it didn’t include The Left Hand of Darkness, which I consider to be one of her most popular books. Odd, no? I think the titles included in that list were intended to be those appropriate for teens, but really. It was not exhaustive. Though I guess (and probably the most logical answer) these could be just the titles put out by that publisher. Oh, book world, why do you do these confusing things?

Back to the topic at hand. Ahem.

Gifts book reviewGifts is about Orrec, a boy living in the Uplands, where people fear their neighbours because each family has a Gift. Orrec’s family has the gift of unmaking (for the sake of description it could be called the gift of destroying). Orrec is coached from a young age by his father in how to control this gift that will appear for Orrec when he reaches puberty. But as Orrec grows and his gift doesn’t manifest, tension begins to build. Who will protect the farm, the land, if Orrec is known to be without the gift? One day, Orrec’s father asks him to try, to concentrate, and use his gift. When the consequences prove disastrous, Orrec decides that his father must blindfold him to prevent any further destruction. Orrec must now rely on others and come to terms with living as a blind man.

I didn’t love this book, though it was well written. I found that there was an overly ominous suspenseful tone to it, as if something truly terrible were about to happen (more terrible than the disturbing things that do happen in the story). So. As you know, not really my thing. But then the ending was a relatively happy one, which kinda confused me after the ominous tone throughout the rest of the book. Not my favourite Le Guin, but still a good book. I did really like the character of Gry, Orrec’s best friend, and I really liked the size of the book. Easy to hold up and read in bed 🙂

Anyway this book is part of a series (the other titles are Voices and Powers). Not sure if I will be reading the others.

2 responses

  1. Le Guin is one of those authors that I keep meaning to read but never quite get around to. I hope to soon, though! I’ve heard great things, even if this one isn’t quite so wonderful…

Leave a Reply

