Spellbound by Rachel Hawkins

I read this one right when it was first released, so back in March or April (yes, my memory sucks. I have a four-month-old, ok?!). Given that, I don’t remember it incredibly well so don’t have a ton to say about it, but I felt like I had to at least jot a few words down because this was the series that inspired me to start the blog in the first place.

Spellbound book reviewSpellbound is the third and final book in the Hex Hall trilogy, and we rejoin our girl Sophie as she heads off to find the Brannicks (sworn enemies of the Prodigum). Don’t lets forget that she’s been stripped of her powers by the corrupt council, and as Demonglass ended her dad and Archer were in the evil council’s slimy clutches, fates yet to be determined. Don’t worry – Cal was on the case, ‘member? So, obviously, Sophie needs to disentangle herself from the Brannicks (or does she?) and rescue the Prodigum from the evil council; all without her powers.

Ok. So, I will say, the book is great. Sophie continues to be sassy and teenagery (I’m sure that’s a word. It is now). But I have to say I was disappointed by the ending. SPOILER ALERT. Here it is. Cal dies? Seriously? I don’t know about that. I kinda thought he was the saving grace of the series, actually. I mean, don’t you think he shoulda been on the new council once the evil was vanquished? Plus, I’m sorry, I was camp Cal all the way. Perhaps I’m just too old for the star-crossed lover routine but Archer was not my cuppa, ya know? Anyway. My thoughts, several months late, for what they are worth.

Leave a Reply

