The Silvered by Tanya Huff

It’s actually been ages since I read this one (my very wonderful husband gave it to me for Christmas last year), but I recently read on Tanya Huff’s blog that she won a 2013 Aurora for this novel, and I wanted to do some online cheering. Such a fantastic novel, this one. Jennifer Lynn Barnes was the first to make me eat my words about werewolf and vampire books, and Huff has certainly added fuel to that fire. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

First of all, where have I been all my life? I had no idea there was even such a thing as an Aurora! Which, by the way, is the Canadian equivalent of the Hugo award. So, hooray for discovering this because I can now search out all past winners and read them. YUM. But, back to the topic at hand:

The Silvered book review

Mirian has dropped out of the mages’ university. In spite of her incredibly high test scores, she was not excelling. Naturally, she hasn’t told her parents. Meanwhile, trouble is a-brewing in the kingdom and the Emperor is running amok, destroying important members of the mage pack because of a prophecy made by the Imperial Soothsayer. When Mirian witnesses the kidnapping of five members of the mage pack, she knows she has to help. And the prickly yet attractive Thomas, younger brother to the pack leader, is her co-conspirator in the quest to save the kidnapped.

I’ve read a few of Huff’s other books (The Wild Ways, The Fire’s Stone) and really liked them. This was by far my favourite, I have to say. I’ve been waiting anxiously to hear whether she’ll be doing a sequel….

I really believe that Huff is one of Canada’s most talented fantasy writers, and I love how she works a Canadian sense of place into many of her contemporary fantasy novels (many are set in Toronto, and parts of the Wild Ways were even set in Calgary! Imagine!).

If you haven’t read this one, do it. I mean it. Especially if you are into fantasy and werewolves.

Congrats, Tanya Huff on your Aurora!

Leave a Reply

